September 17

New In Town

Ok, so I just moved to a new state with my two youngest kids ages 18 and 14.  Being from Louisiana, the question I am always asked is ” is it a big culture shock?”. Yes and no – I can’t get some of the foods I use to have such as Blue Plate mayo, Bunny Bread and CDM coffee (with chicory).   I did bring a small supply with me, but I am now out and need to get some friends from home to send it.  I have to say the people of North Carolina have been peachy, very  nice and willing to help with all my silly questions.  Such as: I need to water my lawn? Mother Nature has always taken care of that task for me.  When does the garbage need to be put out?  For the first 2-3 weeks it was a different day, I was confused, putting out the garbage and it not getting picked up and all. 

 

Football would have to be the biggest adjustment.  No more LSU??  I don’t think so, once a Tiger fan always a Tiger fan.  Nothing against the college teams in NC or the ACC, but you can’t beat SEC football.  But this is a subject for another day.

 
Since we have been here we have been to 3 concerts at Walnut Creek, a wonderful venue and our first time in an amphitheater.  The NC Agjam,  and we have been camping, another first but definitely not our last.  Learned that I need an air mattress, I guess I am getting old.  And the Watermelon Festival, held in a quaint little town of Winterville.  I must say, being from Louisiana which is known for festivals, my expectations were a bit high.  I was surprised to find no watermelon daiquiri, no watermelon wine, not even a real watermelon!!  It was a nice little festival and I need to not compare things to what I am used to.  If you don’t know about the Louisiana festivals:  Jazz and Heritage Fest, French  Quarter Fest, Pontchatoula Strawberry Fest and Essence Fest to name a few, all are wonderfully produced.  Music, food, vendors, and of course alcohol.  Can’t do anything in the New Orleans area without alcohol.  Here is a link to so you can see the oodles of events in and around New Orleans  www.nola.com/festivals.
 
Which brings me to another point, no “go cups”  what’s that about???  I was leaving an outdoor mall which was have a summer concert and I had a beer in my hand, a police officer stopped me and told me I had to dispose of the beer, that I couldn’t walk out with it.  My response?   “for true?”, a typical response for hearing something we didn’t want to hear.  He looked at me funny but serious, so I did what any good person would do, I downed the rest of my beer and tossed the empty can, no alcohol abuse in my book. 
 
Yes, I like my new surroundings, so much to do.  The ocean (with real waves) to the east and to the west mountains, this is very different.  I can’t wait for the leaves to change, my kids have never laid eyes on the colors of fall.  In Louisiana it goes from green to brown……that’s it.  So if any one has any info for us in our new home please let me know.  And if you are a transplant too, let me know how you have adjusted to your new home as well.
 
Thank you for reading, and as I see it life is par for the course.
C
